The Becoming Techie

Dear Techie,

I promise you this my first post is going to be awkward.

A few years ago, in early 2016, I wrote down my new year resolutions. First on the list was to become a python programmer.

Guess what? I learned python programming.

I took a few courses here and there and earned certificates in python programming. But I did not become a python programmer. You may ask why, I can tell you all the reasons which seem not to exist in reality.

The actual reason was that I lacked the confidence to say "I am a python programmer".

It is the primary key to unlocking your full potential as simple as it sounds. Why? a few months ago, I decided to revisit python and was privileged to take part in the data science cohort by WorldQuant University. At the end of the training, I could beat my chest and say I was the best student as I executed all the projects and assignments perfectly well.

Moving on, a friend learned that I code python and asked me to take up an entry role and wanted to connect me. I was in doubt if I could do it. I thought of all the reasons why I could not take up the role. A major point I convinced myself of was that I needed more time to get my hands dirty with some personal projects which I never did.

Of course, I missed the opportunity.

A take-home lesson is that confidence in yourself is very crucial in becoming successful in any field. But you have to prove it not just to yourself but to others. Whatever stage you are in your tech journey, always tell yourself and others that you are the best.

Learning is not enough, you must become.

Your mind may feel weak, but speak and act boldly and your mind would catch up.

Now I can boldly say,

I am a Data Analyst!